Skip to Main Content

The site navigation utilizes arrow, enter, escape, and space bar key commands. Left and right arrows move across top level links and expand / close menus in sub levels. Up and Down arrows will open main level menus and toggle through sub tier links. Enter and space open menus and escape closes them as well. Tab will move on to the next part of the site rather than go through menu items.

News - Details

Phoenix College Men and Women & Pima CC Advance To DII NJCAA National Championships


PHOENIX (June 3rd, 2021) -- The NJCAA DII Soccer Championship kicks off this week for the Phoenix College Men's and Women's teams and Pima CC Men's team. 

These Arizona colleges are competing in the newly created DII competition.  In previous year's, all Arizona teams would compete in the DI. Difference between teams competing in DI and DII is that DI can offer student-athletes room and board. The two colleges in Arizona that can offer room and board are Yavapai and Arizona Western. These two colleges would compete in postseason play in the DI competition while the remainder of Arizona colleges would get filtered into the DII competition. 

Overall this newly created competition is a benefit to Arizona colleges as it will allow the schools in Maricopa County and Pima CC the opportunity to compete on a level-playing field nationally. 

On the women's side, #1 Phoenix College went 10-0-0 during the regular season. The women's DII tournament is being held in Evans, Georgia. Phoenix College will face #12 Muskegon at 6:00 a.m. on Friday, June 4, and #8 Waubonsee at 9:00 a.m.  on Sunday, June 6. The winner of the group will then advance to the semifinals which will be played on June 8. NJCAA DII Championship match will be held Wednesday, June 9, at 4:00 p.m. . Phoenix College is led by former SC del Sol players Zalma Torres (8 goals, 10 assists) and Anacel Valenzuela-Acosta (6 goals, 6 assists), former Excel Soccer Academy players Daisy Meza (9 goals) and Kiana Miyazato (8 goals), and former Phoenix Premier goalkeeper Jennifer Alvillar, who allowed just six goals in 10 matches. Results, bracket, and links to watch all of Phoenix College's matches here

On the men's side, #1 Pima CC, 2018 NJCAA DI Champions, went 10-1 during the regular season. The men's DII tournament is being held in Wichita, Kansas. Pima will face #12 Muskegon at 2:00 p.m. on Saturday, June 5, and #8 Patrick Henry at 2:00 p.m. on Monday, June 7. Pima CC is led by former FC Sonora player Brian Vu (3 goals) and FC Tucson players Manuel Quiroz (5 goals, 5 assist), Francisco Manzo (4 goals, 7 assists), and Juan Suarez, who allowed just six goals in 10 matches. 

#6 Phoenix College went 9-3 during the regular season and they face #10 Morton at 8:00 a.m. on Sunday, June 6, and #3 Heartland at 8:00 a.m. on Monday, June 7. Phoenix College is led by former Excel Soccer Academy player Anthony Hidalgo (3 goals, 2 assists), former Tuzos players Carlos Mendoza (1 goal), Paul Molinares (13 goals), Brian Machado (6 goals), Marcos Mora (6 goals, 7 assists), and former CCV Stars player Carlos Gallardo, who allowed just 11 goals in 12 matches. Results, brackets, and links to watch all the matches here.

The winner of the group on the men's side will advance to the semifinals which will be played on Wednesday, June 9. The NJCAA DII Championship match will be played on Thursday, June 10 at 3:00 p.m.

Past Arizona NJCAA Champions (all DI)

2018: Pima CC Men
2016: Paradise Valley Women
2012: Paradise Valley Women
2010: Paradise Valley Women
2008: Yavapai Men
2007: Yavapai Men
2003: Yavapai Men
2002: Yavapai Men
1997: Yavapai Men
1992: Yavapai Men
1990: Yavapai Men