Skip to Main Content

The site navigation utilizes arrow, enter, escape, and space bar key commands. Left and right arrows move across top level links and expand / close menus in sub levels. Up and Down arrows will open main level menus and toggle through sub tier links. Enter and space open menus and escape closes them as well. Tab will move on to the next part of the site rather than go through menu items.

News - Details

Phoenix College Women Win NJCAA DII National Championship


PHOENIX (Thursday, June 10th, 2021) -- Late game heroics was again the theme for #1 Phoenix College who defeated #2 Holmes, 2-1 in extra time to claim its first ever NJCAA National Championship.

With the lead in hand thanks to a Zalma Torres' goal in the 64th minute and heading into the dying minutes of regulation time, #2 Holmes was able to get a shot past goalkeeper Jennifer Alvillar to equalize the match. In overtime, Jazmin Gonzalez scored the game winner in the 108th minute from a Anacel Valenzuela-Acosta pass. 

Torres' was also named the tournament MVP thanks for three goals and one assist in four matches. Valenzuea-Acosta, Gonzalez, and Kiana Miyazato were named to the All-Tournament team. 

Phoenix College now joins Paradise Valley CC as the only women's programs in the state to win a NJCAA National Championship. 

Check out the game winner here and congrats to all the following players.


Anna Bacigalupi

Jennifer Alvillar 

Carmen Raygoza

Daizy Arredondo

Jazmin Gonzalez

Yesenia Lawson

Giselle Gonzalez

Sophia Madrid

Aaliyah Grice

Anacel Valenzuela-Acosta

Daisy Meza

Kiana Miyazato

Bailey Norris

Sarah Camila Perez

Rebecca Murphy

Vanessa Uriarte

Zalma Torres

Alexius Rodriguez

Aracely Lopez de la Rosa

Gabby Smith

Rachel Moreno