

# **BYLAW PROPOSAL**

PROPOSED BY: ASA Board of Directors

DATE RECEIVED: 12/13/23

BYLAW: Bylaws 321 and 322

**PROPOSED AMENDMENT**: Cite the bylaw (or subsection thereof) that you wish to change and write the bylaw as it would appear with your proposed revisions. Bylaw changes underlined.

## Bylaw 321. GENERAL REQUIREMENTS

**Section 1**. <u>Effective immediately</u>, ASA has the following <u>three (3)</u> administrative, geographical Regions:

#### Central Arizona Region (Maricopa and Pinal Counties)

Southern Arizona Region (Pima, Santa Cruz, Cochise, Greenlee, Yuma and La Paz Counties)

Northern Arizona Region (Coconino, Apache, Navajo, Mohave, and Yavapai Counties)

**Section 2**. Each Organization Member shall be a member of the Region within whose geographic boundaries it is located.

## Bylaw 322. COMPOSITION OF DISTRICTS

Effective immediately:

Central Arizona Region (Maricopa and Pinal Counties)

Southern Arizona Region (Pima, Santa Cruz, Cochise, Greenlee, Yuma and La Paz Counties)

Northern Arizona Region (Coconino, Apache, Navajo, Mohave, and Yavapai Counties)

**HOW THE BYLAW WOULD BE CHANGED**: Write the bylaw tracking your proposed changes. Underline new language and strike out language that you wish to delete.

## Bylaw 321. GENERAL REQUIREMENTS

Section 1. ASA has the following five (5) three (3) administrative, geographical Regions:

Central Arizona Region (Maricopa and Pinal Counties)

(Elected in odd-numbered years)
South East Southern Arizona Region (Pima, Santa Crus, Cochise, Greenlee, <u>Yuma and La Paz</u> Counties)
(Elected in even-numbered years)
South West Arizona Region (Yuma and La Paz Counties to include the Lake
Havasu City area)
(Elected in even-numbered years)
North East Northern Arizona Region (Coconino, Apache, Navajo, <u>Mohave and Yavapai</u> Counties)
(Elected in odd-numbered years)
North West Arizona Region (Mohave and Yavapai Counties)
(Elected in even-numbered years)

**Section 2**. Each Organization Member shall be a member of the Region within whose geographic boundaries it is located.

#### Bylaw 322. COMPOSITION OF DISTRICTS

Central Arizona Region (Maricopa and Pinal Counties) South East Arizona Region (Pima, Santa Cruz, Cochise and Greenlee Counties) South West Arizona Region (Yuma and La Paz Counties to include the Lake Havasu City area) North East Arizona Region (Coconino, Apache and Navajo Counties) North West Arizona Region (Mohave and Yavapai Counties)

**RATIONALE**: Explain the rationale for your proposal and the intended effect of the change.

With the increased centrality and mobility of the ASA CEO and staff, direct communication has increased exponentially. We aim to create a streamlined board with a strong and equal voice for regions.